New Tomorrows

Every day carries the promise of tomorrow. But the start of a new year stands out as a collective moment to prepare for “the future,” the new tomorrow.

What does that even mean?

We never really live in the future. Each moment offers us now. Having recently completed 23 long years of higher education, I have no idea what it means to live in the now. I have spent my entire career thus far, planning (and applying) for what is ahead. At the end of that established path is now. And the greatest lesson I learned in 2013 was to feel, experience, enjoy, mourn, grow, learn, play, think, question, now.

The truth is, my life is not on a 10 year plan. I’m going moment to moment, shift to shift, idea to idea, opportunity to opportunity, each now touching the next now until it comes into being. Any other way of living simply makes me feel overwhelmed and inadequate and doesn’t honor the power I hold in the moment, to make choices, rightly or wrongly, learn, grow, feel, and take that step to the next now.

What are you doing with your right now? (besides reading this post, thank you!)

Are you at peace or do you feel stressed? What are the choices that you control to create the life you dream of? If tomorrow was new and you could be whoever you want to be, what would you do, who would you be?

What if, instead of wishing onto the days, weeks, and months of the unforeseen, we felt, experienced, enjoyed, considered, the new year as a new moment, a new day, a new promise that we may have tomorrow. At the end of every day, be it good or bad, we can lie down and if we are so lucky, get up again. Isn’t that what tomorrow is all about? Getting up, in the moment, and choosing to live in the joy, mystery, and wonder of it all.

Hello, 2014 you stranger, you.

I accept that I have no idea what this year has to bring.

I am excited about new opportunities to share love, life, and creation and thankful to be a part of it all.

I hope each of you will continue to join me on the journey.

To new tomorrows!

Leave a Reply

